Humor · Life Style

Yes, I Play The Ukulele

th

Last year I decided that I needed to cross something off my bucket list. I wanted to learn how to play the guitar. So I went to the music store, bought a guitar, and took lessons for six weeks. Fast forward to the end of those six weeks, and I felt like I had wasted my time. I thought the guitar would be a lot more fun. It was really big and hard for me to handle. It was bulky. And clunky. I was left with not just blistered fingers, but blistered expectations.

Not long after that, I saw a YouTube video with someone playing a ukulele. And a little bell went off in my head. Wow, I thought. That looks like a lot of fun! That’s just what I’m looking for!  So I went back to the music store and bought one. It was actually a concert size ukulele. (Who knew that ukuleles came in different sizes)? I started watching YouTube videos on how to play and it was actually much easier for me than the guitar. It was smaller and easier to handle. It was really portable. It had less strings than a guitar and this was easier for me as well. I was playing better on the ukulele in 2 days then I had played on the guitar in 6 weeks! I was hooked. Here are some reasons why  I love the ukelele:

  • They’re cute. You try looking at this thing without smiling! They come in all different shapes, sizes, and colors.
  • They’re popular.  You see more and more ukuleles in music videos now than ever. They’re very mainstream. If Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson plays one, they are pretty cool.
  • They’re  inexpensive. You can find them on Amazon for as little as $15. Of course if you want one that is fairly decent, plan on spending a bit more than that.
  • They’re fun! Fun to play, fun to take with you wherever you go. They are a great conversation starter.
  • They’re easy to play. With a few less strings than the regular guitar, the ukulele is easy to play. Even a beginner like me plays pretty good, and I can’t read music!

What’s stopping you from getting a ukulele? I’ll talk to you soon.

Thank you, Bing free to share and use, for the image featured above!

9 thoughts on “Yes, I Play The Ukulele

  1. Back when Guitar Hero was all the craze, my son loved to show off his epic skills. Except he held the guitar like a ukulele which cracked me up every single time. He thought he looked like Mark Knopfler but really he looked like a Hawaiian kid. So, he banned me from watching him. I was also banned from pantomiming playing the ukulele. And Hula dancing. And wearing leis. And grass skirts. And singing TIny Bubbles.

    Like

  2. Years ago I bought myself a set of bongos so I could play music with my husband (accordian player) and daughter (guitar player) only to discover I had no sense of rhythm…for the life of me I cannot figure out beats, measures, timing, etc. I clap out of tune. So I had my husband buy me a piano and I worked my way up to Happy Birthday and Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star but when I got to a song I did not know, it took me too long to figure out where the key was to fit the note and since I have no sense of timing, I had no idea if it was sounding right or not. So I had my husband buy me a “pre-bagpipe” instrument which is still in the box many, many years later. As well as a couple of other odd instuments that looked easy in the ad but never made it out of the boxes either. So I took singing lessons…for five years….sang Italian arias (or I should say my VERSION of Italian) and Broadway show tunes. My “Second Hand Rose” was stuff legends are made of…I was a great entertainer….not such a great singer. Some where I had decided that if I couldn’t hit the notes right, I’d just wow em with volume. Think Ethel Merman caterwauling. I am now thinking I should take tap dancing lessons. Or that kind of dancing they do in Riverdance. Oooo, maybe Modern Dance….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

