Health · Humor · Life Style

I Can’t Sleep

th-2

I owe a lot. I have a huge debt. A sleep debt. In fact, lets not even call it a debt. Let’s call it negative net worth. I haven’t slept in years. Not well, anyway. You might be wondering, why?  Could it be hormones? Stress? Too much looking at the gadgetry before bedtime? Too much caffeine, or sugar, or late night exercise?  Most likely, it’s all of the above. You can tell I’m well versed on this not sleeping thing, huh?

Here is a statistic for you; 40% of Americans are sleep deprived. In fact, sleep deprivation is an epidemic, and a great public health concern. I know I’m concerned about my lack of sleep. While doing a little research for this blog post, I stumbled across a video that National Geographic, in partnership with the NIH and The Public Good Projects created. It was about the epidemic of sleep deprivation in America. I watched it, and you can too with the link below:

Sleepless in America

In reality, I’m not trying as hard as I should to get this lack of sleep under control. Sometimes I have caffeine in the afternoon, or eat something sugary. Sometimes when everything else gets in the way of my daily workout I am on the treadmill at 7 pm, trying to get it done. And yes, at times, I’m under the covers at bedtime, looking at my Ipad.  Sure, I could take a nap on the weekend, or go to bed earlier. But it just seems like there is always stuff that needs to get done. And who’s going to do it? And after the chores are done, what about my hobbies? Where is the time for them? But the sleep debt adds up. And I’m finding that the older that I get the more difficult it is to burn the candle at both ends.

Relaxation is helpful. Whether it’s humming yourself to sleep or listening to a podcast to wind down, I think it all has to do with priorities and taking care of yourself.  Our lives and the world around us are very busy. It’s hard to navigate and remember to take care of ourselves. But we must take care of ourselves. No one can do it for us. I’m pledging to myself to try harder. How about you?

Do you have trouble sleeping? What do you do to help fall sleep? I’d like to hear about it. I’ll talk to you soon.

Image courtesy of Bing free to share and use.

12 thoughts on “I Can’t Sleep

  1. With you on this…sometimes even I get to sleep, my sleep quality is not that great. Mostly stress and looking at the computer screen too late at night.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m old. That’s why I have trouble sleeping and I’ve always functioned on less than five hours of sleep, even way back in college. Now I only sleep about three or so hours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Around three is when your circadian rhythm reaches a localized peak. Many people wake up about that time and then struggle to get back to sleep. And, six is a localized low. So you spend an hour or so trying to get back to sleep. Fall asleep between four and five and then can’t wake up at six. It is all circadian rhythm.

      Recent search suggests that we should be dividing our sleep into two four or five hour segments. Most people will be awake for an hour or so during the night. You might consider trying to divide your sleep time so that you are timing your waking time a little closer to dawn. I don’t know for sure though.

      Jack

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t have problems sleeping due to medications for long-term pain management, however, I DO have problems waking up. The Viking, on the other hand, is very much like you. He doesn’t sleep well or long or often enough and somehow he manages on about 5 hours. He would deny it of course, but I think there is a little sleep envy going on as I sleep blissfully and he’s wide awake. :o) Also…..I can never complain about being tired. Ever. Which sucks because it’s hard to justify a nap and I really like naps.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sleep is a strange strange thing. Sometimes you hear that you should make up your sleep deficit and sometimes you read that it is impossible to make up your sleep deficit. But, one thing is clear, though, dreaming and deep sleep is extremely important to our well-being.

    We discount sleep and its benefits. My own struggles with sleep are based on my low self-esteem and my problems with authority figures. I just don’t want to go to sleep because (a) it is what you’re supposed to do — I’m still such a juvenile delinquent — and (b) if I get a good night’s sleep, then I don’t have an excuse when I under perform the next day.

    The steps to a good night sleep are somewhat clear. Sleep in the same way that you do everything else that is important to you: practice, focus on it, plan it. Have a bedtime ritual. Do the same things every night as you prepare to go to sleep. Go to sleep at the same time every day including days off from work. Get up at the same time every day including days off from work.

    One of my tricks when I know I’m going to be short sleep because I’m up against a deadline or something, I tell myself as I fall asleep that every minute of sleep will seem as if two. I wake up as if having gotten a full night’s sleep.

    And if all else fails, take melatonin.

    Good post.

    Jack

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have had trouble sleeping since I was 21 and I am now 61 so you do the math! I have resorted to taking 1mg of Lorazepam around 6pm so I can fall asleep pretty easily around 11ish. And wearing earplugs. And sleeping on a blow up bed in the corner of my room, not in the king bed with my husband. I have Fibromyalgia and so I can’t stand to be bumped into and eventhough my husband tried his hardest, his legs or an arm would whack me and I would be in intense pain. Now, no one bumps me or whacks me (unless it’s my 2 yr. old granddaughter who sometimes stays overnight but I can live with that!) and if I take my pill, I sleep like the dead. I know Lorazepam is highly addictive so sometimes I try to not take it or to take half a pill but I do not sleep then. So I have had to make a decision, which is more important, sleeping or becoming addicted. My doc only gives me 90 at a time and they have to last me 90 days before I can get a refill and since I also have to use them for panic disorder, I can tell you I really have to be careful to only take them when neccessary. I had thought about asking for a script for some sleeping pills but after reading about the side effects, I’ll stick to what I know! I wouldn’t mind not sleeping if I was productive during the time I am awake but no….I just either watch TV till I am dizzy or lay in bed for hours tossing and turning (can I count that as exercise?) and then sleep for a few hours in the morning and feel like crap for the rest of the day.
    Geez, nothing in life is easy anymore, is it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still don’t sleep but I know I can tweak some of the other things in my life and that will help. I’m not against taking medication and I totally understand its uses. If it helps you that is great. I try using Melatonin sometimes but it doesn’t have the same effect after being in a more heavy duty medication. It’s not easy! Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  6. I don’t have a problem with sleeping so much as I have a problem with going to bed. I have a mental list of things that I feel like I have to do before I go to bed, and I always seem to start it too late… and then, once I get to bed, I always want to read a little bit…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

