Humor · Life Style · Writing

On Why I Love Lists

PJ-BE455_WORKFA_G_20111227193302

I love lists. And I know what you are going to say. This list thing is getting out of hand. I’ve got TO DO lists, reminders, alarms, bells and whistles. I’ve got note pads, notebooks, a Day Planner and a Filofax. You would think I have no memory. But I do, and therein lies the problem. I remember to write it down – on my list. And the notebooks….there are many notebooks…but I digress…we are not talking about notebooks, we are talking about lists. It’s a love/hate relationship.

I’ve got lists about lists. I’ve got lists of things to do, places to go, and people to see. How else would I keep track of everything? Hubby calls me the Crazy List Lady.

Did you know that there are websites devoted to listmania? People tweet about their lists. People blog about their lists. Lists are everywhere. Pinterest is a virtual list. I would just like some of my lists to go away. I’m a little overwhelmed by them. Maybe I could condense them into just one? Most of my lists are written on paper, although several are virtual. Some are bulleted, some are numbered. Some are just inside my head.

Some things I have made a list of, and why:

  1. Things to write about (so I don’t forget).
  2. Bills to pay and when they are due (self-explanatory).
  3. My husbands medications (what if we get into an accident? Would I remember his medications in a fit of panic)?
  4. List of birthdays (not that we know that many people, but they do have birthdays).
  5. Who to send Christmas cards too (not that we know that many people, but they do celebrate Christmas).
  6. Chores, chores, chores.

MY LISTS ARE NOT JUST BUSINESS ONLY. SOME ARE FOR FUN. FOR INSTANCE:

  1. Places I’d like to visit before I die.
  2. Foods I’d like to try.
  3. Books I’d like to read.
  4. Places to hike.

And it’s not just me, lists are everywhere. Some well-known lists:

  • Bucket List
  • Dave Letterman’s Top Ten List
  • Forbes List
  • NY Times Best Seller List
  • Amazon best seller list
  • 100 Most Influential People – courtesy of TIME magazine.

On the plus side, lists feel good.

Some reasons why I love lists:

  1. I’m writing it down now so I don’t have to think about it later. I will just do, proceed, and take care of things.
  2. They keep me organized.
  3. Helps me remember not to forget.
  4. They are soothing, in a strange way. They help me to feel in control. I like checking things off my list. Done!

What exactly are my lists saying about me? Am I trying to be more organized? More focused?  Not just on my tasks, but on my dreams and ambitions with life? What about the list I find on a notepad in my drawer from last year? I thought I needed that list! Nothing is crossed off! Did everything get done? And what about the lists that I re-write? Sometimes I just like them to look….pretty…you know?

I’m one of those special people who have a list for any occasion. Expecting an emergency? Gotta hop a plane? I’ve already made a list! World coming to an end? Here’s your list!

What are we doing tomorrow? Let me check the list. What bills do I have to pay this month? Let me check my list. What is Fred’s phone number? Let me check the phone list.

These days it takes a lot to manage a household. A lot to manage a life. It takes a lot to stay organized. We are constantly under pressure and over-stimulated. List making helps me cope, I guess. That’s the best way to say it.

I do not totally undersand the psychology of my list making, and while my lists are not popular, like some of the lists mentioned earlier, in the end, they are my lists. And they aren’t really for anyone, except for me.

Are you a crazy list making person, like me? I’d like to hear about it in the comments. I’ll talk to you soon.

Clipart image courtesy of Bing free to share and use.

5 thoughts on “On Why I Love Lists

  1. I have lists of my lists of lists for pete’s sake! I have one for “if there’s an earthquake that breaks the house” one for “If there’s a tornado” ” if the electric goes out” “if we have an ice storm and the electric goes out” …then there’s the “what to do first when I die” list…poor George is incapable of figuring out the bills, etc so I have a list of bills to pay, a list of foods to buy and how often, a list telling where other lists are………….I think I may even have a list of friends with some of my lists in case I lose the lists! lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always tell myself I need to make a list of whatever I need a list for and then I tell myself I’ll make that list later. That never happens but I think I did and I start looking for the list that never got made and I accuse others of throwing my list away. That may still be the case, I’m really not sure if I’m making a list or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

