Weekend Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share

IMG_0061An Attitude of Gratitude

If we were having coffee, it would be really early Saturday morning. We would meet at Harriet’s Cafe. I’d give you a big hug because I haven’t seen you in a long time. I’d ask you “HOW ARE YOU?” I would listen while you caught me up on the happenings of your life. When it was my turn,  I would sigh a heavy sigh, and tell you that….

The week was humming along nicely until Wednesday morning. I got a call from my husband, who  told me that our mutual friend was in the hospital. He is a diabetic who was ill and ended up with a horrible foot infection. The infection turned septic, and he was rushed to the hospital. Unfortunately they had to amputate his leg, just below the knee. The doctors kept him sedated overnight, but, Thursday morning they woke him up. You can imagine the prayers that were going up for him! How would he react? Would he be angry at his room-mates for calling 911?  Well, when he woke up his spirits were good and he was thankful and feeling very lucky to be alive. He’s already had many visitors, even thought he is in the ICU. One of the nurses commented to me that he was doing exceptionally well – she had never seen anyone making such a strong comeback after being so sick!

So, I’m really tired.  We’ve been back and forth to the hospital a few times this week, but, I’m feeling thankful. Maybe a better word is grateful. Our friend has a long way to go, but he will have our help and the help of many other friends to see him through.

If you or someone you care about has diabetes, please encourage them to take care of themselves. Education is key.

Well, going to the hospital now. Saturday mornings we usually have breakfast with our friend. Breakfast With Friends This Saturday won’t be any different.

I’ll talk to you soon.

P.S. I changed the format of my blog. Please let me know what you think of the new layout!

#weekendcoffeeshare

 

 

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share

  1. Wishing your friend a speedy recovery.. My dad struggles with diabetes and has stayed ahead of it so far. A strong network of friends can only help.. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post. I can relate…my husband had a fever of 102.7 degrees last night. I almost took him to the ER. He’s doing better now, but I am wondering the cause. Is it the flu or could it be sepsis? I’m keeping an eye on him and planning for a trip to the doctor tomorrow or Monday.
    Anyway, I hope your friend is doing better.

    Like

  3. Prayers for your friend! Foot care is so important for diabetics! I can’t stress it enough! May his recovery be swift and his blood sugars be within normal range! Blessings to you for being such dear friends!

    Like

  4. Sorry to hear that your friend has had such a rough time but I’m glad to hear that he is on the road to recovery. Best wishes to him and lots of good and positive vibes being sent your way!
    ps. your new layout looks great! Like the color and the style 🙂

    Like

  5. My mother has diabetes, but she’s a trooper. Thankfully, she has always had great insurance, and keeps her doctor’s appointments. She’ll be 80 later this month, and shows no signs of slowly down. I’m pretty sure she likes having all her limbs. But, I wish she wouldn’t feel the need to eat like her friends when they’re out, or when family is around with different types of food. Then she comes home and takes an extra dose of medicine, or may do so before eating with us, or out. Can she spell the word “discipline?” Another older friend plays a dangerous game too. I convinced him to educate himself about diabetes by volunteering with The American Diabetes Association. In doing this, he has to keep his AIC at a certain level. They do check!

    Here’s hoping your friend continues to recover. Blessings to you and yours for your love and support. I know you know this but…take care of you too. Your oxygen mast first, then your friends. Just a mention. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

